747-8 Tips & Tricks

PREAMBLE - a lot of people I watch or read say the 747-8 is currently unflyable. I want you all to know first thing, it is very flyable, very smooth, it just needs some tender love…tune off the ATC and find a good smooth Jazz station, and fly’er right.

Thank you for visiting this tutorial, since none is pinned, I wrote one myself. First: A little about me–
I never have flown before, I have never used a simulator before and I decided to go straight for the Lion…the 747. I completed one run of the Flying Lessons Tutorial and moved straight into the Boeing 747-8 default. Learning it was…interesting…to say the least, but hopefully from a novice now intermediate (I only crash…sometimes :wink: ) this tutorial will therefore have more value for any newcomers while also providing a platform for more experienced pilots to critique what I have observed along the way.

Table of Contents in Order of Appearance:

1. World Menu
  2. Preflight Checks
  3. Take-Off and introduction to Vertical Speed (VS)
  4. How to make a smooth, minimal correction turn and how to best control turn.
  5. How to slow down, and lower flaps.
  6. Small changes = smooth flying.
  7. Simple troubleshooting advice for if Autopilot goes on the fritz.
  8. Known bugs and what to do about them.

So let’s get started. First, I assume you navigated to the World Menu and selected a Departure Airport and Arrival Airport.

This tutorial is rooted in ILS so I selected ILS High Altitude and found a departure flight plan and an arrival flight plan from the World Menu then started the simulation. (Please ignore that I flew the plan backwards, and that was because I wanted something short at a good approach angle).