A320neo weights & balances

Two issues (or questions) about the A320neo:

• empty weight is given as 90.400 lb. According to Airbus, the A320neo usually has an operating empty weight of 97.700 lb. Is this plausible to have an empty weight of 90.400 lb or is this just wrong?

• The default payload has 6115 lb in the business class and 4000 lb in the economy class (forward baggage 3505 lb, rear baggage 6310 lb). This results in a default CG of 21.6%.
    This seems to be a little bit unusual to me, too. Business class usually has around 28 seats, economy class 150. What do we have on board, Jabba the Hut travelling in business class with a pile of people in the rear baggage?
    Would be nice when the values would be more realistic with around 5 times more passengers in economy than business. This should result in a CG of 25-30% - I’m just a beginner, but isn’t that a more plausible value?

Bonus task: Use a passenger slider (instead of %) from 0 to 180, accounting for 170 lb (passenger) + 35 lb (baggage) per person. Put them in a 1:5 ratio across business / economy and fill in the resulting weights in the existing fields.
Yes, you could do it yourself, but who of you really does this? It would just be a little frontend change, resulting in a slightly more realistic baseline.

3 Likes

give us a choice in Kgs as well please

Empty weight and operating weight are not the same thing. The Dry Operating Mass (DOM) normally includes the weight of the crew, catering, standard equipment etc. Basically everything except payload and fuel.

The seating thing depends on the airline in question but indeed a larger business class section compared to economy class does not seem likely. It would be better to cut the cabin into at least three cabin sections as this is also the case on the load and trim sheet.

For the passenger weights I would suggest using EASA standard mass values including 6 kg of hand luggage (which is considered standard).