Airport editing 'for dummies', please?

Hello guys!

I’ve tried reading the SDK documentation and following the SampleAirport tutorial, but when trying to create the .bgl file I got an error ‘NetBingObject not found.’ To be honest, I’ve no experience on this and I’m completely lost. I do not know if I need any other software than the SDK (I have installed it). Can someone lighten me up about editing some airports? Thanks!

1 Like

Welcome to the world of SDK’s. I wish there was a magic wand to wave to make it easy. If it’s any consolation it is easier with FS2020 than FSX because the SDK has more tools. You should not need anything else for it to work

We are all still learning and the SDK is a work in progress. When you say you tried to create the bgl file what did you do? use the Build Package button in the Inspector window? Did you also check to see whether any bgl files were created in the package folders? This is the package before any building is done

and this after wards

The compiled bgl files needed to make things work in the sim are located in the Packages folder

Jon
ScruffyDuck Software

1 Like

Thanks for replying! I’ve been re-reading the documentation and I’m having a better grip of the SDK.

As far as I understand at this point, I can edit current airports but not partially, I have to make them from scratch. But to do that, I have to (the generated one) and start my own, right? How do I open (or find) the package of current loaded airports?

You are correct but there is currently no way to open loaded airports or default airports. Asobo, the developers are aware that having to recreate the airport is a burden so hopefully they will be able to provide a solution.

It is possible to get a start with XML from another source but I would recommend getting really comfortable with the editors first :slight_smile:

Thanks! I have experimented with the SDK and now I have a XML file. As far as I understand airports are in BGL, correct? What do I do next?