Basic guidance where a small airfield has no tower etc

Hi. Novice here, Xbox user flying (attempting) Cessna 172

My question is two fold. One about navigation and the other about using the toggle and input buttons while programming a flight

If I fly from say Newcastle and I want to fly to a very small airport with no ILS or tower. So basically a field. Although GPS will take me direct. Am I going to have just make visual fly past to live up a runway. Is there a YouTube video showing this someone could post a link?

Second question - if I wanted to start a new flight after landing. When if go to the cockpit, open up flight Manet in the cockpit, the Xbox does allow you to enter way points etc (does this make sense?

Any videos or links, much approached.

Sorry for the short reply, but just about to pop out… (not my video by the way :slight_smile: )

Ep. 12: Proper Traffic Pattern Entry | Non-towered airports - YouTube

2 Likes

And this would be worth a look …

Uncontrolled Aerodromes - Procedures - SKYbrary Aviation Safety

2 Likes

Here’s a link to the FAA Flying Handbook

Chapter eight and chapter nine address pattern work and approaches.

Welcome to the community of aviation! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

What a lovely welcome, thank you

Normally when VFR you enter the pattern on a 45 to the downwind (usually left traffic) or you overfly the field at midfield and enter the downwind.

When on an IFR clearance, when you leave center/approach, and change frequency to get the WX at the field, then you’d change to the CTAF frequency and make your calls to the local traffic.

It’s safer to make a visual approach and pattern entry in VMC, but if flying a GPS approach in IMC, then you can fly straight in, making the radio calls.

1 Like

If you are interested in flying procedures correctly, you should fly a VFR traffic pattern.

Key-points in a standard European traffic circuit: