Beginner questions on SU9 turbulence and right roll (ignoring dead zone?) - Xbox Series S

Hi all,
as I mentioned in my presentation post, I’m a complete beginner and I’ve been enjoying FS2020 on my Xbox One Series S via Game Pass for a while, albeit pretty much just to look around the world and enjoy the view, not so much to get a “realistic” experience… if anything, because I would end up crashing the plane pretty quickly.
I did however do my homework: I completed all the in-game training, read up and watched videos, and so on. I’m not always perfectly clear on what I’m doing or supposed to do, at least I’m not leaving a trail of destruction behind me if I mess up!
Still, I have quite a few questions and I hope that someone can share some tips on what I can do to learn more. To be clear, even though it’s going to make many people’s hair stand up in shock :), I’m actually fine with it being a glorified arcade game rather than a full-featured sim.

I’ve mostly settled on the 172, for a couple of reasons. First, it’s got everything in the same place and for a newbie like me, that’s quite handy. The live map on the second screen is also nice. I obviously have no idea how to use the G1000 yet (I’ve downloaded the official manual though) but I’ll get to it. Second, and this is going to sound silly — honestly, most of what I’ll say will sound silly to experienced pilots — is that it has a single control for the throttle, which is far less confusing than separate power and RPM levers like some other planes do. It’s also relatively slow, which is great for my main use case of sightseeing and daydreaming.