Could you give us a bit more info on how gusts are created?

Is this a purely random thing, or are these derived from weather data?

I think I can answer that question, even though I’m not a developer.

The wind gust data is taken either from METAR reports or from Meteoblue.
METAR reports don’t always report wind gusts. They’re usually reported if the wind gust speed is 10 knots or more than the average wind speed. Some stations around the world report them differently though.

If there are no gust data in the METAR, then the gust data is taken from Meteoblue.

1 Like

Yes, Thanks, I thought something along those lines. But this only forecasts the wind speeds. How is the frequency of the gusts derived, or the duration and direction?

1 Like

That I don’t know. Hope they’ll explain more, because to me it seems like the frequency could be tuned a little. Right now the gusts are too frequent I think.

2 Likes

Yes, I also agree that the frequency of the gusts is rather much too uniform right now.

IRL you don’t normally have a flight where the plane shakes continuously like this. Instead you get turbulence in random-ish bursts, with a similarly random interval of smoothness in between.

Also, I’m finding that at low altitudes (below FL200), there seems to always be as much gusting as there is wind. Which really makes it less realistic than it could be due to an overly predictable excess.

I don’t think there is any data (MeteoBlue or Metar) on the frequency/duration of gusts whenever they’re indicated. I’d guess this is something the sim has to infer by it’s own logic - And that seems to be where the “too constant” issue derives from.

So there’s definitely room for tuning there.

I hope the message hasn’t been lost in the noise with all the people going on with the “Hard = Realistic; Don’t nerf for noobs” argument (which is rather a fallacy)

1 Like

Some of this was discussed in the previous Q&As, and indeed, there is an issue with the availability of data they have.