Default aircraft and free flight

HI! I have just started using the new MFS (8 hours or so). First off - amazing graphics and flight feel! I am no pilot, but have used the old MFS-X version and felt at home there straight away, because one could fly simple aircraft like the Trike, Goose, DC Douglas and such, which made it possible to start and land on simple local airfields, in fields, on the water and so on without too much hassle - just flying by the seat of one’s pants.

I have tried to find the equivalent in this new version, but have not found it yet. The “free flight” mode I have found seems to revolve around flight patterns around an airport and also expects one to be proficient in ATC communication. I have no knowledge in this as yet, nor have I found a tutorial in MFS on ATC communication where to learn this.

1. Does MFS have similar scenarios to free flight in the old MFS-X and
  2. Is there a MFS manual and where do I find it?

I do realize that MFS is an ongoing development, but I had really hoped just to be able to fly again as in MFS-X, just with better graphics and such. My MFS version is Steam based in Windows 10 on a PC. I am trying to get more information on the web. I don’t mind learning how to become a pilot, but sometimes one just wants to fly without ATC distractions, at peace with oneself and the world, marveling at its beauty from above. A Trike Ultra-lite really makes this possible.

Thanks in advance,
Errol

Welcome.

There are no Missions or Training Missions in MSFS.

You have the basic eight Training Lessons, but they’re a far cry from the very detailed Rod Machado Ground and Flight Lessons from FSX Days. In fact, I kept a copy of FSX just to refresh on Rod’s Lessons and re-obtain my “certificate.” You will find those much more useful than what’s in MSFS.

If you don’t have FSX anymore or it’s not installed, you can still get a Ground School refresh here:

https://krepelka.com/fsweb/learningcenter/lc_index_lessonsmain.htm