Elevation info and Distance Measuring info

I believe it would be useful to provide elevation info, especially on destination airport, especially if you are flying over mountains and have to descend rapidly. Also it would be useful to have Distance Measuring Equipment to show desending miles to destination airport…helps get you ready for speed, landing gear, flaps, etc.

I really enjoy the Bush trips and would be an advocate for more Bush Trips.

Thanks

If you have a GPS in aircraft you can set the WPT page, and the second page will show elevation and the distance to will appear on the map page (default)

Again if equipped and available, DME can be displayed on specific avionics.

A lot of fun flying those chop-and-drop type of approaches.

Hi: Your answer has been most helpful, thank you. I’m going to ask you another question whose answer is probably obvious to most people , but i’m still learning…how do you find and activate glide slope info?

Thanks again for your help and patience.

You need to find the ILS system frequency for the runway you will be landing on. Dial that into your NAV1. Once you capture the glide slope, follow it down to the runway environment keeping the horizontal needle centered.

It will vary by country, and aircraft instruments installed.

That is it in a nutshell.

The glideslope signal is transmitted by a separate transmitter on a separate frequency (UHF).
Thankfully for pilots this frequency is paired with the localiser frequency (VHF), so you just tune in the published ILS frequency and the glideslope is also automatically selected.