First experience with VR and Reverb G2

So I just finished my first VR “flight” with my brand new HP Reverb G2s (they literally just arrived today, too), and my initial reaction is that I’m satisfied. I need to do some tweaking, but it’s the closest I’ve come to flying a real airplane since the last time I flew a real airplane.

Some observations:

• Getting it setup was harder than I anticipated, and I’m still not sure I’ve got it right. I got them physically connected, and played around with the Mixed Reality portal, which seemed to work ok, but I obviously didn’t have the first clue what I was doing.
  • I got around to trying a flight, and that took a little voodoo. First I installed SteamVR, set it up to use beta code, and fired that up. It seemed to work to an extent, too. Maybe it worked perfectly, but with my total noob status to VR, I really don’t know what it was supposed to do.
  • I tried firing up FS2020 from that, but didn’t get it to work right. So I did some googling, and found out I needed to actually enter a flight, and hit CTRL-TAB to get it going, then the Spacebar to center. Neither worked.
  • I finally had to manually do the keyboard bindings in settings to what they needed to be, after lots of googling and frustrations, and finally it worked. Really cool!!!

The settings are set very low, by default, and the only change I made was AA to TAA. I haven’t got a clue what kind of fps I was getting (frankly, I don’t know how to figure that out in VR), but it was more than acceptable. Now I start turning up settings until it starts getting mad at me.

The one thing I would categorize as a problem is that I was was closer to the panel than I want to be, but I’m guessing that somewhere buried in a setting sub-sub-menu in either the sim or the WMR software (SteamVR just kicked me back to WMR when crunch time came), I’ll find a fix for that.

Rig:

• Modestly OCed 10600K
  • Very OCed 2070 Super
  • 64GB of CL16 RAM