FlyByWire A32NX developer complaining about the sad state of the developer / third-party experience

I saw an interesting post on r/MicrosoftFlghtSim of someone presenting as a FlybyWire A32NX project developer complaining about the sad state of the developer / third-party experience in the simulator, especially after the last update.

Original Post

I don’t want this post to be interpreted as a childish complaint or as an entitled demand. I am simply expressing what I feel should be improved in order for this sim to thrive.

This game was marketed as supporting the huge part of the ecosystem made up by third-party addons. It’s not a secret to anyone here that any sim without third-party content is almost DOA, and I think it’s not a secret to Microsoft / Asobo either. Yet, it seems like the development experience and communication for third-party developers has been completely neglected.

I am an active dev on the FlyByWire A32NX project, and our team has contacted Asobo multiple times. We have NEVER gotten a SINGLE response. We asked if we could modify the model of the A320, we NEVER got an answer. Not even a simple “no, the licensing doesn’t allow it”. We would have started developing our own model THE SECOND we would have gotten that email.

Ever since this simulator has released, the development experience has been pitiful. The bundled tools are almost useless. Live-reload for aircraft barely works. Live-reload for JavaScript barely works without modifying the game code. Oh, and guess what, now it doesn’t work at all because they decided to enable Coherent DiskCache in the latest update, rendering part of the development tools we have started building completely useless. And of course, there is absolutely no way to disable it.