FMS data question on CRJ 550/700?

Hi there, where do I download the FMS data for the CRJ 550/700? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. I have Navigraph and Simbrief. Which I am new to them both.

If you log in to Navigraph web site, you will see a section called Downloads. Within that you will find FMS Data section that has specific data for aircraft. Choose CRJ Professional and install that.

4 Likes

Thanks for the help and info…I just downloaded the FMS Data…Unfortunately I’ll have to do it again in a day or 2 , when the new Airac cycle comes out…

1 Like

Why? Do you absolutely need the most current version for flight simming?

Sorry I’m new to this, I thought that I needed it. I guess what I should ask is,What is the purpose of the Airac cycle and what is it used for?

Simply to have the lastet changes concerning navaids, SIDs etc…not required IMO.

1 Like

In the real world navigation data needs to be updated for the sake of safety so that everyones on the same page. That being said, from one airac to the next there arent a ton of changes. That being said the more airacs you’re behind on, the more inaccurate your data will be.

You can find airacs for 2017, if you use them for flight planning through simbrief, it would be like flying around globe in 2021 with thinking it was still 2017. Simbrief would formulate a flight plan as though it were still 2017 using 2017 airspace data. Data which might not be relevent today.

You’d have 2017 departures, arrivals, fix locations, and other nav data in your flight plan that might not exist or may have been altered in current flight data.

That being said, for the purposes of flight simming, being one or two airacs behind is fine (occasionally you might find a discrepancy). However being 10 airacs behind for example would be pretty bad, there might be some departures, arrivals, and nav fixes that you wouldn’t be knowledgeable of.