Help Me Break Out of My Flying Rut

Hi all,

Longtime flight simmer and RW pilot here. I have always done most of my flight sim flying in my favorite place to fly: the Caribbean! To keep this short, I want to find something new. And MSFS is the perfect vehicle, so to speak, with its amazing scenery.

So I decided the other day to fly a flight on every continent. I started by flying around Mt. Kilimanjaro. The scenery and the area surrounding the mountain were gorgeous!

Then I went to Japan. I flew from Takamatsu to Tokushima, two of the photoreal cities. They were brilliant as well.

Now Iā€™d like to continue expanding my horizons. Areas Iā€™d like to visit (flying small GA aircraft):

More of Africa - a lot more!
Australia
New Zealand
China

Really Iā€™d be open to flying anywhere that you guys find interesting.

Suggestions appreciated!

1 Like

Ok, hereā€™s a question. How realistically are you flying? As a real-world pilot I know it is easy to get into unrealistic habits when simming. Unless practicing for a BFR or other test I guess :slight_smile: But even RW pilots differ too. How many RPT pilots still fly basic VFR just for fun? I ti s now a job for them. I lost programming as a hobby when I became a programmer.

I can understand the desire for scenery but for that I flew from YPAD to Europe in the Mooney Ovation. Basically I just piked airports using the OnAir app to make $$$ along the way. But scenery to me is secondary.

As a general question for everyone in a similar boat that any RW pilot would already know.

• Are you using real-world altitudes?
  • Are you using auto-pilot?
  • Are you checking the windsock direction before picking the runway?
  • Are you entering traffic patters properly (entry angles and altitude, descending on the dead side, etc)?
  • Are you navigating by GPS or using landmarks?
  • Are you spending too much time looking at instruments and not outside? (assuming AP is off)