How much network bandwidth is needed for MSFS 2020?

I’ve got a PC dedicated to MSFS 2020. Due to where it is located in the house, I get the following on Speedtest:

Ping: 12mS
Download: 70Mbps
Upload: 36Mbps

My broadband at my main PC is much better as I’m connected directly to my broadband router. However, my flightsim PC is connected via a Homeplug device. So, is 73Mbps download enough?

I have a 40 mbits (germany has bad internet :confused: ) and its working fine! Microsoft says 50 mbits is for ultra requirements so you are fine.

1 Like

I have the same set up as you. I get drops when the wife is on her treadmill!! Think it might be the motor in it causing fluctuations. The treadmill is on the same ring main (in UK), so apart from that MSFS is ok.

The wife asks if I’ve landed yet before she goes jogging it :rofl:

4 Likes

i would like to know this,i have the same 73mbps,the maximum acording to m/s is 50mbps so we hopefully should be ok,im no broadband expert and i do struggle in the big cities with melted building,hopefully someone in the community will be able to help

1 Like

well, I have effective 255 but since last Week the SIM is telling me this is too low and interrupts my flying and switches me to offline mode every few minutes…

I imagine homeplug is another word for powerline adapter?
If so, I have the same setup, 1Gbps internet, 1Gbps powerline (advertised), ~80Mbps (actual), never had issues with MSFS.

Yes, Homeplug is Powerline (Ethernet over mains wiring).

LMAO. What if you’re doing a transatlantic flight? Does she wait for you to land?

The problem is the MS MSFS Servers, not at your home

She goes jogging outside, or just waits until I’ve landed if its raining… Bless her :rofl:

1 Like

Just tell her to do her run while you’re in the flight programming / boarding phase. It’ll be like she’s late for the flight running to the gate!