How to start a career as a pilot?

My son and I love playing MSFS together. I want to encourage him to play more and potentially do some real life flying lessons when he turns 16. I would like to know from commercial pilots out there if they have any tips on being successful as a pilot. I have heard you need contacts at a major airline to get a traineeship. How about getting into the airforce ? It seems that doing private lessons is expensive and no guarantee of success. I would appreciate any advice.

Quick question: You’re asking from the US? I’m a commercial pilot, but in Germany, so any input I might give would not apply in that case…

I’m not personally a commercial pilot, but I hope my experiences with my son can be helpful to you and your son. I hope this all doesn’t come across as bragging, just want to give you as much info as possible.

My son is 21 and will graduate a US-based college next May with about 300 hours of flight time and his CFI.

Some tips that helped us:

• The Air Force is always an option and is the least expensive overall, but has the most time commitment depending on a few factors. Unless things have changed recently, I think you’re looking at least 6-10 years to exit the AF and train as a commercial pilot. Plus there’s always the risk of combat. Someone please correct me if there’s better info.

• The college route, while substantially more expensive, did have some elements that helped us decide this route. 1) my son will actually have a BS degree plus a minor, and 2) based on some good legwork, he got some really good scholarships making it very close to a typical college.

I’m surprised that the dropout rate at college is so high. Flying will need to be a passion. I think 30% of my son’s class has dropped out due to COVID and/or cost.

While my son isn’t expecting to jump into a 737 right after college, there are some additional things that seem to be helping his chances: