Is it possible to add custom gadgets into aircrafts?

I’m a complete n00b at the SDK but I’m a seasoned developer and have a few ideas for some fun stuff I’d like to investigate.

So, my question is pretty much already stated by the topic: Is it possible to develop custom 3D “gadgets” like, say, a tablet, an E6-B flight computer or other stuff that is typically carried by the pilot between aircraft, and to be positioned in 3D space (in different planes)? if so, where do I go for more information (SDK related, not for creating the models and such)?

This is already bing done in many planes.
Also, one can easily have a 2D Panel called up from the Top Menu. eg pms50’s GTN750 2D Panel

Hi,

Yes it is, but the SDK documentation isn’t very helpful. Take a look at this example by ‘Maximus’ which provides the code for a custom toolbar menu … it pulls up a website - but what goes inside is up to you, your coding prowess and your imagination!

There are already a few such addons out there, but still room for more. I’m working on a classic navigation log as used in the '30’s and '40’s. I’m also no novice with programming (as we used to call it back in the day), but also a n00b with the SDK, and find the structure a bit confounding if you’re doing something a bit different from key examples (you know the good old advice, ‘start simple’; well apparently I don’t do that!). Good luck!

1 Like

I know several models include a tablet, usually to help with configuration and to trigger animations, such as opening/closing doors etc. But those are part of the model and can’t be used in other models. Maybe I misunderstand your reply but what I’m asking is whether it’s possible to create something that can be used in existing models? It could be something as simple as a pilot’s bag, maybe including a E6-B and some 3D sandwiches or whatever. Would be fun if it can be done.

I dont think so. I’ve asked this before myself.