Load Time File Structure in MSFS 2020 - Using Base Files In Your Mod

Hey all, there’s a lot of confusion on how MSFS 2020 actually loads files from the Community folder, so I thought I would share my extensive investigation into it and hopefully explain some of the weird happenings that occur when mods are installed. I’m not very good at writing guides, but I hope this is semi-understandable.

Files Are Merged On Load Time
So, you would think that the game would load each file in community separately and enable you to reference things inside your mod folder. However, this is not what actually occurs. TL;DR Your mod folder is not self contained. If you overwrite any base game files, the base game files become inaccessible after load for ANY mod and ANY base game plane.

For the sake of an example, I will use an add-on aircraft. This is how the sim loads that object…

1. The aircraft’s folder, the one inside SimObjects > Airplanes, is merged with all other aircraft folders from the basegame. This is good in the case of FBW, where they can name their folder Asobo_A320_NEO and the game will automatically overwrite the base game aircraft with any files they have. However, once this occurs, there is no way to access the base game A320 cockpit, for example. The game now thinks that the FBW cockpit IS the A320 cockpit.
  2. Any folders inside your mod folder are merged with the in game files. Say you have a ModelBehaviorDefs inside your mod folder. This will be merged with the base game ModelBehaviorDefs. If you have overwritten any base game files, those will be referenced across the board by ANY mod or base game plane.