Microsoft Flight Simulator 1.26.7.0 Beta test for XBox, itself is buggy

The Microsoft Flight Simulator Beta test for XBox Series X|S installed version 1. 26.7.0 on my XBox, and I think it is buggy itself. (it was posted in the Community > News and Announcements section by @Jummivana 1 week ago on June 21 for the purpose of collecting XBox crash data).

I purchased a new XBox Series X in May for the purpose of learning Microsoft Flight Simulator (installed from Game Pass). I am new to both XBox and MSFS. Almost nothing works as expected, a lot of freezing and crashing. I uninstalled and factory reset the XBox, and reinstalled MSFS… what a mess.

I downloaded and installed the Beta tester so Microsoft could collect more info about XBox issues and hopefully fix them. It installs as an update to 1.26.7.0, but that seemed to make things buggier. Specifically more freezing and crashing than before, scenery became worse even if I tried during less busy hours (like early Sunday morning EST), and the G1000 NXi would no longer engage VNAV (at least not reliably).

I uninstalled MSFS and factory reset XBox again - I did not unsubscribe from the beta testing, so when I re-installed MSFS, it was the 1.26.7.0 version that installed directly. On the initial setup screen on first launch, there are a list of settings choices (I don’t remember exactly, but to do with voice prompts, data bandwidth, etc). It’s the first screen where the Cursor mode of the XBox controller is used before you even get to the “Home” screen - and the Cursor was not visible, so I could do nothing but force quit the game, and reboot again - same result. So I Unsubscribed from the Beta and am wiping the XBox again.

What a disappointment this whole experience is. I am going to try one more time, from a reset XBox, but I’m close to giving up on the whole thing. Disappointing (is the only word I can post here).

3 Likes