Monitor Suggestions for New Build

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/XxCzb8
Have everything ordered for this build. Except for the 3080 obviously. Can anyone recommend a monitor for $400 or less? Would like to go 4K but kinda concerned with the 10gb of vram on the 3080. 1440 would be fine too. Would it hurt to have a 4K monitor and use it on 1440? I’ve read some people say downscaling looks terrible. Im a noob and this is my first build lol. Any advice is welcome.

Edit: would prefer 144 hz for other games such as FPS. Minimum 32”. I know I’m asking for a lot with the budget. Could wait and spend a little more if necessary just looking to see what people would recommend.

Look at the ultrawide range of LG…

If you are getting 1440p use a 1440p monitor and vice versa. Native 1440p is going to be crisper than using a 4k monitor and dropping it down to 1440p,have tested this before. A decent VA 1440p 144hz mon is also a good option but that resolution looks best on 24-27inch sizes.Check out LG,SAMSUNG,DELL,ASUS.

1 Like

I would suggest spending your monitor budget on quality rather than size/resolution. To this end I would say going for a 2k monitor (1440) with a 27” would be the better option. Note 2k on a 27” screen is kind of a sweet spot with regards to pixel density.

The added benefit of the lower resolution should also equate improved performance compared to 4K. We know flight sims are demanding on PC performance the difference between 2k and 4K may well be the difference of a smooth and consistent experience against dips in performance leading to stutters or dropping settings.

3080 will do 4k just fine.
I’d say do 4k with around 80% of render scaling, will look good with a bit of driver forced sharpening.
Digitalfoundries video goes more in depth onto render scaling, it “upscales” the image to native res.