Need help with upgrading pc specs

Hi everyone.

I am running msfs on my 6yrs old gaming computer. I experience extreme long loading time, and much lagging when approacing any major city.
A small msfs update can take many hours to complete.

I have been looking into what pc components to upgrade, but sadly I am no computer expert.

My pc specs are as follows:

Corsair RM750, 750W PSU
Intel LGA 1150 Core I7 -4790K
ASUS LGA1150 B85 - PRO GAMER
HyperX Fury DDR3 1600MHz 8GB Black
MSI GeForce GTX970 4GB Gaming PCI - E
Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA3.0
Samsung DVD RW SH - 224DB/BEBE SATA BULK

My cabinet is a Cooler Master HAF 912 Adv, if that matters. Running msfs of Steam.

I have been thinking about installing a 1TB SSD, and having both OS and msfs running on that.

What else would be logical to upgrade to get rid of the worst lagging? More RAM? Do anyone have any recomendations to make this work?

Hope someone can help me with this.

Thanks in advance.

What is your budget?

An ssd won’t help much. So don’t waste your money on that. If I were in your shoes I would probably improve the ram and graphics card. I think your cpu will be a bottleneck. Remember you will need to research which ram you can use for your motherboard. You can see this on your motherboards website and look for authorised products.

This is why I ask what your budget is… It may be worth saving up and buying a new prebuilt pc if you’re not comfortable building your own.

Was thinking, that if I could get it running kinda smooth for 3-500 USD I would be happy. But I am open to put more money into it if it would be necessary. The pc will only be used for flight simming if that matters :blush: I think I would be able to change out parts myself.