New idea for Quest 2 tracking camera video passthrough

I asked this question on reddit:
I am a flight sim pilot using Quest2 and instead of peeking out the nose gap or lifting the bottom of the headset, I was wondering about perhaps something simpler than a real mixed-reality (green screen solution), how about an experimental feature that when the user double taps the HMD, a percentage of the VR image (controlled by the volume control buttons during double-tap mode setup), beginning at the bottom of the image screen and extending upwards be the passthrough video instead of the VR graphics. The idea is to show our keyboard (especially), mouse, control wheels/joysticks and maybe the bottom portion of our monitor. I realize that the current passthrough video is low quality and black-and-white, but maybe with some of the new “Link Sharpening” thrown in, we could get some help using control devices on our tabletop during car/flight simming. Also, the newer Quest++ models will likely have better quality cameras. I could try to develop this mixed reality capability in apps - and purchase HD stereo cameras and mount them on the HMD but seems like a lot of work and expensive.

Anyone else think it might be a good idea and want to try to see if the Oculus devs might be interested?

1 Like

I guess this would be relatively easy to implement and would be nice to have the option.