No addons in the community folder have ever worked,

I have been using MS flight sims for many years and am very satisfied with the latest evolution. However I am attracted by all my fellow simmers explaining how great the available addons are. Just download extract and place in community folder and there you go. Except unfortunately I have tried with various addons and the result is the same it is if my computer does not see the communitiy folder. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
ps. while I am a brilliant pilot I am not very computer literate

Which version are you using (MS Store or Steam) as this will change the location of your community folder.

Also did you let the sim install town default location or did you change it to a custom spot?

Use file explorer and do a search for community, I’ll bet you have more then one. I changed my install directory, so the community folder changed, but FBW when I install it wants to install in the old directory that the sim isnt reading anymore. I’ll bet $2 thats what your problem is…

I have a store bought disc set loading through microsoft store the addons I have tried are from different suppliers last one was flightsim.to for the pushback control.
When I first loaded this I had not heard of the community folder and just let it do its thing.
my trail looks okay disc C>>Users>>User>>AppData>>MSFSpackages>>Community
hope this helps

Just out of curiousity,

Can you check if you have a community folder here as well.

C:\Users[Your User Name]\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.FlightSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache\Packages\

The other thing to keep in mind, is ensure you are extracting the zip file before moving to the community folder. Once extracted, you also need to drill down and only place the root.

For the pushback toolbar, it should be this folder.

And inside should look like this.

Thats interesting as I have not had any trouble with the fbw addon its sitting in a file MSFS Packages>>Official>>OneStore