Not sure about specs

My system is an Intel i6700 3.4 Gig.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Ram 16 GB
Graphics board GeForce GTX 1080 8 GB Gddr5x

Is this PC enough to run FS well.

Thank you.

1 Like

Moved to Self Service #self-service:pc-hardware for advice.

Hi there!

You may have read about FS2020 being a beast to run, and yes, it can punish high end systems at high settings. BUT… there were major perfomance updates a couple of months back and it’s actaully now very well optimised. It uses significantly less RAM, it runs much more smoothly and consistently on moderate hardware, and actually it’s a fairly tame beast.

I test hardware for a living, and your PC will be just fine. Your only ‘aging’ part is the CPU, but actually FS2020 doesn’t use a tonne of cores, but can be limited by single core speed. So you might suffer slightly lower frame rates in complext areas, like big airports or low over cities. You have plenty of RAM, and your GTX 1080 will run the game great at med-high settings at 1080p or 1440p.

The other must have is an SSD, and FS2020 currently occupies ~200GB on mine so you need lots of space!

Fast internet also helps bring the world aliive with streamed data and photogrammetry. 30+Gb/s will really help here.

Best thing is you can try it cheap by signing up to the MS store for a month, and seeing how it goes. If it’s not acceptable to you, just cancel and you’ve lost less than $10.

What Intel CPU would you recommend.

Thanks

Firstly, don’t buy anything now. Intel 12th gen arrives in a week and should bring major performance uplift with it. If they end up expensive or out of stock, other CPUs still do well though.

You’ll need a motherboard as well, if you’re planning an upgrade… Possibly ram if you’re on ddr3.

The Intel i5’s do a fantastic job on a budget, the i5-10400 or i5-11400.