Official Discussion: August 18th, 2022 Dev Update

Check out the latest Development Update here:

Please use this thread for feedback and discussion. Thank you!

3 Likes

Hmm
guess August is in taking over September now :joy:

2 Likes

Disappointed about the delay of SU10. That said, the team are making the wise decision to hold off rather than rush it out the door knowing there are issues.

I’m cool with waiting

12 Likes

I’m glad the SU10 release was delayed - they had some issues with memory optimization, and need more time to sort them out (working with NVIDIA and AMD, if I understand correctly).

For those not on the SU10 Beta, Working Title’s Garmin G1000 NXi is replacing the Asobo G1000 as default in the sim (for planes that have a G1000). And the same software is available as a free add-on in the marketplace for 3rd party planes that use a G1000. I’m relatively new to MSFS, but this update is really great. It does almost everything the real units do (depending on what a particular plane is equipped with - not all planes have a radio altimeter or weather radar, for example)

MS and WT put out a feature video today:

3 Likes

Anyone else pick up on the somewhat vague answer by Martial when asked whether memory constraints on the XBox would affect the PC version? He mentioned something about having to meet memory constraints as a developer, and there are higher LOD’s on PC than on XBox, but it wasn’t what you would call a yes or no answer.

You know, it’s odd. Whenever questions about cross platform stuff one up on the forums we are repeatedly assured that they have separate code bases, and yet we keep seeing, and hearing things that seem to dispute this. Obviously there are differences, but when key questions like this come up, the answers are always somewhat fluffed, like they are trying to massage the answer.

The question was asked at 01:17:04

9 Likes

Think this is what we call ‘creating a mountain out of a molehill’.