Overspeeding and fuel efficiency

Hi all,
I’m new to the game and just have a couple of questions about overspeeding and fuel efficiency.
Firstly what constraints change what the overspeeding limit is. sometimes generally in airlines the overspeed limit changes meaning it won’t let me get to a proper cruising speed. This kind of ties into my next question how do I achieve cruising speed without a: overspeeding or B: burning through all my fuel instantly?

(Also on that note, is there a way to turn the overspeed warning off)

The main indicator for speed is an airspeed indicator. The higher you fly the less air density, therefore the airspeed indicator will show less than your real speed.

Cruising speed for airliners is defined by the Mach number, whereas Mach 1 = speed of sound. The Cruising speed for the A320 is around Mach 0.78, the 747 around Mach 0.90.

You will see that the airspeed for overspeeding will decrease the higher you fly, as you get closer to the maximum Mach number for that type of aircraft. In real life it would literally mean that parts of your airframe start reaching supersonic speed (typically starting at the wingtips, as due to the sweep of the wings the air speeds up when it flows along it).

The overspeed warning is crucial, and there’s no way to turn it off.

Edit: there’s a lot more when it comes to the different types of speeds that you see, especially in airliners, but this is the basics of the basics. I hope it helps a little to understand!

In regards to the A320 here is a few things I have noticed (I’m not a pilot, I’m a beginner so this may not be correct)

Your maximum speed before over speeding has a few factors.

Throttle position and altitude

The throttle has a few positions it can be placed which will be indicated on the actual throttle.
Climb mode - Maximum speed of 220KIAS regardless of altitude
Auto thrust position - 250 KIAS below 10k ft above 10k I think you can achieve maximum cruise speed