PC Cooling Upgrade (Hardware Check Help?)

I think I need to upgrade the cooling on my PC. I bought it about 1.5 years ago, it’s a cyberpower pc (https://www.bestbuy.com/site/reviews/cyberpowerpc-gaming-desktop-amd-ryzen-7-2700x-16gb-memory-nvidia-rtx-2070-8gb-2tb-hdd-240gb-ssd-white/6315148) and it’s running about 75-80c for the cpu with spikes to 85. The GPU also runs in the 80ish range. The only changes I’ve made to the pc have been to add 2 16gb sticks of corsair dominator ram and a new 2tb SSD drive.

I’ve tried to do my research, but hardware scares me and I’ve never done this before. The pc has a Ryzen 7 2700 in it. I think I know what I should buy, but I’m not positive and can’t afford to be wrong, so could somebody tell me if I’m doing stupid stuff here or if I’m on the right track?

I want to add this: Noctua NH-D15 for the cpu cooler. I also have an open fan “spot? slot? big whole on top?” so I thought I’d add a Noctua Ultra Silent 140mm Fan to that slot.

I assume I’ll also need to buy a splitter since I’m adding a new fan, and the AM4 CPU heat sink bracket, unless that’s something I’d already have?

Have I provided enough info to tell me if I’m buying the right stuff? I don’t know what kind of motherboard or case I have, hopefully it’s in the best buy link if it’s needed. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

the big noctua’s are excellent heatsinks provided your case has plenty of clearance for it with its height of 6.5 inches , they are bloody huge contraptions and the only heatsink/fan combos i have found that can match my custom watercooling setup (which cost a lot more than the noctua)