Pitch trimming - help required

HI all. I’ve been flying the TBM 930 quite a bit, and like it for its combination of speed and range. However, I’ve been struggling with pitch trimming on it - I’m finding it really hard to get level flight - I always seem to be either slightly climbing or slightly descending and when I try to adjust it I always seem to go too far the other way.

I have a Honeycomb yoke and logitech throttle quadrant. By default, pitch trim is mapped to a two button switch on the yoke - but I found this way to sensitive. So I remapped pitch trim to an axis on the logitech quadrant. I though this would give me much greater control. But that’s not really the case. I’ve dialled down the sensitivity - currently on -35%. I tried -80%, but found that I then had to move the lever a long way to have any impact and then the curve gets exponential at the end and it just jumps away from me. -35% seems better, but I’m still oscilating.

I’m a nooby pilot, so probably doing something basically wrong, although I’ve watched a couple of videos on it. I’ve also practiced with the Cessna 152/172 and found it much easier there - I’m wondering if it is because the TBM is about twice as fast at cruise, if not more, and this makes everything a bit more sensitive.

Any tips or suggestions welcome

Thanks

1 Like

I’m only a beginner, but basically I trim for a constant speed, if that changes you have to trim constantly, plus wind, airplanes lose weight.

I use autopilot for Altitude/Hading.

Warning: The following hasn’t been tested by me so be very careful and always make BACK UP

Go here E:\Microsoft Flight Simulator\Official\OneStore\asobo-aircraft-c172sp-as1000\SimObjects\Airplanes\Asobo_C172sp_AS1000

or in your case (since you wanna change the TBM trim): E:\Microsoft Flight Simulator\Official\OneStore\asobo-aircraft-tbm930\SimObjects\Airplanes\Asobo_TBM930

Open the file flight_model.cfg in Notepad

Search for elevator_trim_effectiveness

Change the value to 0.5.