Real fog / low visibility

Fog is required. It is riddiculous to have a Flight Simulator with impressive weather and no real fog. Fog belongs to aviations as much as thunderstorms and sunny days. It has to be fixed!

Fog/Mist/Low Vis is possible already: Some free weather presets including Fog. Shallow Mist etc

I get fog in Live weather. To be honest I’ve not tried it as a custom profile but I think you can do this as well, it’s just another cloud layer. Happy tinkering! :slight_smile:

I checked several airports where reported RVR was below 200 m. Not a single Airport simulated the visibility correct. I am a real airline pilot and know how low vis operations has to look like. With RVRs of 200 m you really have to taxi slowly and stick to the runway lights. I never saw this within FS2020 (Fsx used real fog)

Maybe it can be simulated, but live weather doesnt do it correct regarding current metars

7 Likes

Where can I check your presets?

And why isnt the live weather able to use real fog?

Fog is already in the sim. I landed in the fog

For all we know it can, but you would need to be at a location where this exists and the sim has correctly re-created this using MeteoBlue’s predictive, non-METAR based approach.

Hand crafting it is certainly possible. Yesterday, I landed at an airport where half of the runway was covered by fog/cloud. All I could see was a grey wall.

I tried 9 airports yesterday with reported fog. Within the simulator I was able to see the entire runway which is far away from fog. I did set live weather :thinking:

4 Likes

Hello,

unfortunately Live Weather still does not support foggy or even very cloudy weather.

I am currently in Klagenfurt LOWK and weather reports:

LOWK 231220Z VRB02KT 3000 BR SCT003 BKN004 01/01 Q1021 R10L/19//95 TEMPO BKN005

This is how it looks like within the sim:

This issue is all over the simulator.

Wind, QNH and so on works great, even rain and now snow. But fog and low clouds…no.