Reverb G1 to Q2?

I’ve been using a reverb G1 pro for a couple of years now, previously more into sim racing but moving back to flight sims.
I’ve been thinking about changing to a Q2. Reasons for this,

• Heat, find the reverb gets quite hot and uncomfortable after half and hour or so
  • Cable weight! really pulls on the side of the head, Q2 either lighter cable or wireless even
  • With my 1080ti, i don’t really seem to be able to take it beyond about 65 - 70 on the resolution, so wondering if the Q2 i may actually be able to push that a bit higher, as oculus does seem to be a little better optimised ime. Therefore negating the on paper reduction in resolution, or improve it even!

I have a Q1 so know it’ light, fairly comfy and overall very user friendly and versatile.
I can even pull in different views into VR for flight plans etc with oculus
Had oculus DK1, 2, CV1, S

Has anyone made this “side step” more than upgrade and can comment on the visuals between the two?

Thanks

I had g1 and g2, but I chose Quest 2. In fact, the best picture in terms of colors seemed to me in G1. There is a terrible sweet spot in g2, and at 100% openexr devtools is not productive enough. With the advent of the Link Sharpening setting in Quest 2, the image sharpness has become very close to g1 and g2, but thanks to the ability to painlessly reduce the FOV to 0.8, I get an additional increase in frames. On some small planes, such as cessna 152 or bulldog, I get 72 fps and a performance margin of about 30% (I have RTX 3080 and ryzen 5900x). In terms of convenience, the standard Quest 2 strap is very uncomfortable, the helmet presses on the forehead, so be prepared to buy an additional mount on Amazon or Ali (for example, bobovr m2). Otherwise, this is an amazing purchase for a small price.

2 Likes

Yeah heard about the tiny sweet spot on the G2, and know may people that sent theirs back, couple thinking they had a fault even it was that bad!