Reverb G2 and FBW A32NX Experience Questions

I recently purchased a used HP Reverb G2 headset. I’ve read many of the setup threads and watched several YouTube VR setup videos, however I’m completely new to VR, so I don’t know what expectations I should have. Here are my questions.

How do you find the readability of the MCDU buttons and display text? They are not very clear to me, but are they just too small to work properly in VR?

How do you interact with the cockpit? Does everyone use the mouse to activate the various buttons and switches, or do you interact with the airplane with different methods?

I get around 32-36 fps on the ground at KORD in the cockpit. I find interacting with the cockpit in general to be much more of a chore in VR compared to 2D using the mouse. Clicking small buttons in VR takes some patience and I found myself kind of exhausted at the end of setting up the plane.

In addition to the G2, I am using an i7-10700, RX 6800XT, 32GB 3GT/s DDR4, and an M.2 NVMe. Flight control is a Velocity One Flight Yoke+Quadrant.

Pertinent SW settings: In-game render scale 100, settings a mix of medium and high, TAA on
OpenXR Toolkit render scale 90%, sharpness 60%, MR off, using FSR.

(Although not the topic of this post, I’ve also experienced a couple CTD’s when switching in/out of VR mode or changing from cockpit to external view while in VR. Never have had those issues before, but more time is needed before I come to any conclusions.)

Sharpness seems high. Try 30 and then 15 to see if you can notice an improvement. Remember, the G2 has a very small “sweet spot” where things are in focus, so there will be a lot of head movement.

Yes, I’ve definitely noticed the sweet spot challenges. I’ll probably order a third party face plate to get the displays closer to my eyes, and I’ve already ordered custom prescription lenses. Using with glasses is literally painful.