Should I renew my current AV solution?

Good evening!

my AVG antivirus is up for renewal this month and wondering if I should renew it our not? I am not very tech savy but I read recently that windows defender appears to be sufficient enough?

I don’t want to risk anything for the sake of a few FPS so said I would ask here!

I read somewhere it can fairly taxing on CPU usage?

I agree with your comment about windows defender.
I have read several articles noting that windows defender is as good if not better than anything out there and is not nearly as taxing on the system. I have been using WD for several years now and have not had a single incidence of malware or virus. Another point is that WD is made by the operating system manufacturer and is updated almost daily if you check windows updates.

1 Like

Exactly what I have been reading I just don’t know enough about it to take the leap! again, I don’t download anything to dodgey to have to worry but always better to be safe!

By disabling AVG I presume WD will be enabled by default?

last time i actually installed an AV software on my pc is about 7 or 8 years ago… never had a virus or anything.

2 Likes

Windows Defender and some common sense is enough

4 Likes

Personally, I would make sure by uninstalling AVG and checking to make sure Windows Defender was enabled , check for windows updates then make a full scan.

2 Likes