Struggling with VNAV/RNAV/ILS 1000NXi

Looking for some help or advice - I’m a licensed private pilot (VFR) who doesn’t fly anymore. When I flew, glass panels didn’t exist in GA. I have been teaching myself IFR systems using glass cockpit equipped aircraft in the sim and watching videos. Recently I’ve been having issues RNAV after VNAV has brought me to the FAF. For some reason it often does not capture the glide path. I’m flying the Beechcraft Bonanza with the 1000 NXi. Is this a bug, or am I potentially doing something wrong? An example of one of several different flights I’ve tried was departing hickory, NC to Asheville NC, RNAV rwy 35 approach.

Would there be anyone willing to try this and tell me if it works? Any pointers I might not be thinking of?

Thanks!

RNAV approaches are “easier” than ILS in that you don’t need to worry about programming the right localizer freq and switching NAV modes to LOC. With RNAV you can just stay in GPS all the way.

I assume you have selected the RNAV approach in the NXi and it is active.

If you are at the final approach fix altitude, and you arm approach mode before reaching the FAF, it should capture and take you down the glide slope.

That’s what I thought. Prior to upgrading to SU 9 I mostly used ILS approaches without VNAV (I just referenced approach plates), with great success. Also was successful using RNAV without VNAV. I wonder if I’m experiencing a bug of some sort?

I decided to repeat the same flight and repeatedly fly missed approaches until I figured out what was causing the issues. Definitely software bugs. Several things are happening: