The future has arrived!

I’d like to say “thank you” to all the developers, artists, testers… whoever was involved! I can say with absolute certainty that the future of flight simulation is now here - after 40 years of waiting and dreaming! :slight_smile:

Yes, I am an absolute flight sim noob: I started in the 80ies with a C64 and various “line graphics / 1 FPS” flight “sims”, continued with an Amiga (filled polygons!) and later with PCs, starting with a 486. I stopped around Falcon 3.0 (and in general with “gaming”) after that.

So here I am, in absolute awe with the Flight Simulator 2020! I already managed my first “IFR flights”, including several successful ILS landings with the Airbus 320neo (thanks to several YouTube tutorials, and even looking up some actual Airbus public documentation about “what does that knob here do?”).

Of course I was already on my first elephant safari in Ethiopia, landed with a Zlin Aviation Shock Ultra on the El Capitan in the Yosemite park, and generally got “lost” in all kind of places on this beautiful planet Earth (and there is so much more to discover)!

I am absolutely happy with the performance, even on my “mid range” iMac 27" 2018, which allows me to enjoy the simulatin wiht “High” settings (with an i7 and 32 GB RAM - and yes, Windows 10 and FS2020 are running off an affordable, external 1 TB SSD): of course I reduced the resolution to “Full HD”, but I am absolutely fine with that (see my 1 FPS experience on my C64 above ;)).

The simulation is relatively stable, especially given the sheer size and complexity of such a product! I do get occasional crashes, especially after flying a couple of consecutive flights (each time returning to the main menu in between), but again, I am absolutely happy with it.