Total noob question about landing

Hey guys, total noob here so I apologize if this is a stupid question. Most of the things I’ve learned during playing FS2020 I’ve done through rote learning, but there is one question the answer to which I simply cannot find from anywhere online nor from the cockpit.

I like flying the A320neo. Every time I land, and I’m just about to touch ground, the engines go on full blast even though I put them to idle. Nothing I do can stop this, unless I turn the engines off. It really seems like some kind of safety measure which would prevent the plane from crashing, but can be turned off during landing. Can someone explain to me what is going on and how to deal with it? Thanks.

On landing, setting thrust to idle should disengage the AutoThrottle. If it doesn’t do that for you then turn ATHR off on short final - seems to be bugged.

The airbus A320 has a safety parameter that will engage thrust if you get too close to the stall speed. This is why some people might be finding the engine spooling up expectantly on the final, they are flying to close to the stall speed and the limiter kicks in.

Make sure you are full flaps, auto brake armed and carry a little more speed into the flare and you should solve this issue for yourself.

2 Likes

I asked this same quesiton, and I was told that the Airbus does this by design if your airspeed is too low during a landing.

Is this a case of me flying badly and the system working as intended, or is it a bug in the simulator?

What do you mean by “auto brake armed”? Does that mean air brake engaged to 100%?

What should your speed be when you touch down?

I’ve tried having autothrottle on and off. By default I turned it off. The only workaround I’ve found is turning off the engines entirely, and then turning them on right as I touch ground to put on reverse thrust.

This would also make sense.