Yaw damper and rudder trim in TBM 930

Hi,

I am having issues with the yaw damper and rudder trim in the TBM 930.

Normally before takeoff the rudder trim should be in the green area to the right to counter propeller torque at full power. But if I do this the plane breaks heavily to the right.

As for the yaw damper it should have direct influence to the rudder trim. But is does not seem to have any effect. The rudder trim seems to take precedence. Is this expected?

My comparision is the HotStart TBM 900 for X-Plane 11. Since I have no experience with TBMs in real life maybe I just have wrong expectation.

What is your opinion?

Best regard
Silvio

2 Likes

I found this also. I usually check it after setting YD and have found I trim it manually to get level. Not sure it’s meant to be that way. as you say AT on with YD should do this automatically.

Enjoying flying this one. Think it’s the most complete GA just now. Avionics seem to function well for IVR flights.

I’ve been programming flight plans manually via SimBrief and Navigraph rather than using the in game planner.

I can’t really feel much if any torque twist in this compared to the Hotstart which requires a ton of trimming.

same is even with torq set to none it still yaws right uncontrolable ay adjustment makes it worse I find this an issue with all the prop planes they are way way to touchy

For take off I have rudder trim set just right of centre but not as far right to green marker (as think it should be) seems to keep the plane easier to control

1 Like

I’ll try that the mechanics are so god awfal I was expecting better honestly

A work in progress for sure!

ya am confident they wll tweak them My other issue is seems no brightness for the MFD displays and they are so bright you can barly see the runway…anyone know if there is a brightness I saw them in other aircraft but not any useing the tripple Garman displays,Wish i had the option for ol dial gagues