28GB RAM Usage with 32GB RAM?!

Hey guys, I was just trying to enjoy the mountains around KLAX when my ram usage topped out at 28GB.

I don’t think this is normal at all, whats your take on that? Does anybody have a solution or
is it just MSFS in its current state?

My other specs:
9700K at 4,8ghz
32GB RAM as I said
Installed on an M.2 SSD
1080ti

Thanks in advance, everyone

What do you think is abnormal about it? Are you expecting more? less?

The sim is just using resources available to it, which is a good thing, since RAM is a lot faster than your SSD or harddrive.

3 Likes

I think the OP was looking for a solution

Is it causing you any problems, is more the question, or are you just commenting? Doesn’t look abnormal to me but I’m no expert.

I’ve got 64Gb of RAM and very occasionally I see over 50% being used - but it is pretty well known that 32Gb is an ideal amount. Playing with the size of the page file also appears to help if memory becomes a problem.

My limitations at the moment appear to be GPU related; GTX1650 which came with the machine, often 100% so I’m seriously looking for an upgrade, but what I don’t yet know.

A solution to what though?
A program making use of available system resources (especially around an area like LAX) seems like correct (and actually beneficial) behaviour to me.

6 Likes

Agree with this.

1 Like

I find it amusing how the guys on the FSX forums back in the day were complaining that the sim wasn’t using enough memory. Now people are complaining that its using too much.

Im curious though. I want to understand the OPs reasoning for wanting the sim to use less ram. Is it causing problems or do you just not like the big number?