Advanced SDK Urgently Needed for Aircraft Developers

Hello all! I wanted to share some thoughts regarding SDK development and the high level of importance that it has to the entire flight sim community. This will be a bit of a read, but want to provide some background information to frame my discussion.

I have been flight simming for approximately 15 years, since I was in my early teenage years. Flight simulation gave me a huge passion for aviation, even though nobody in my family has any involvement in flying. It was a window into the whole world of aviation that I am extremely happy for. That passion that it created led me to pursue aviation as a career, and now I am a professional pilot thanks to flight simulator. My first two years of flight simming I had no idea that there were “payware” type addons. I just flew the default airplanes and had a moderate amount of interest. Then around 2007 or so I made my first payware purchase, the Level D 767. Many of you that had FS2004/FSX back in those probably remember the aircraft well. That is what took my simulation to the next level, and really forced me to really dive in the books and become a better pilot.