Advice on learning how to fly different aircraft

Hi all,

I’m a complete newbie to flight sims (played a lot of Elite, probably the nearest comparison), and I’m really enjoying it so far. I’ve gone through the first 4 training ‘missions’ for want of a better word, and have gotten pretty comfortable in this particular aircraft. However, I’m keen to fly something quicker, but having tried various ones I’m often not as clued up on where the same information is on the instruments, and what guidelines I should be flying to. For example, I’ve tried to fly the jet (not sure of the name off the top of my head) and couldn’t figure out how to disable to landing gear warning, and I was hopeless at landing it as I couldn’t slow down enough. I’m probably just trying to run before I can walk. I may need to go back and make the options more forgiving - I felt I was doing the right thing by making it more realistic and punishing so I can learn the fly properly, but perhaps that was a mistake.

So my unnecessarily long-winded question is - are there any guides for newbies like me or key information somewhere in the sim that I can use to adapt to different aircraft?

Many thanks

Dale

1 Like

Seconded. I’m in a similar position and after around five hours of play time, this is one of my two biggest requests: guides for flight controls, characteristics and checklists for each aircraft. It doesn’t have to be a full tutorial, but a pop up manual or similar would be very appreciated.

I agree. An in-game instruction manual which is available in the in-flight toolbar would be very helpful for aircraft speeds (takeoff, landing, cruise speed, climb speed, etc.), flap settings for each, etc.

Hey guys, YouTube is going to be your best bet for stuff like that. There are already lots of videos on how to fly the planes. Just do a search for the plane you want to fly.

1 Like