AI landing the A320

Hi I’m fairly new to flight sim but been on FSX for many years.When landing the A320 using AI it very rarely lands on the runway correctly usualy to the left or right am I using the correct settings?
Also is there any way of stopping the aircraft banking like a fighter jet when changing course.
Any help anyone could give will be much appreciated
Thanks Ian

Hi @GiggyGlue153080,
Welcome to the forum!

Are you referencing the AI Control Pilot or the autopilot? Also, are you using the default A320 or using any addons for it?

AI assist is to “assist” you in learning the aircraft systems. They usually work well with simple aircraft like the Cessna 172 or the Daher TBM. A320 is a complex aircraft with complex flight computers, what usually happens is that the AI doesn’t seem to be designed to fly complex aircrafts. So it tends to “fight” against what the aircraft should behave.

I think once you learned about what the A320 is really capable of, you can leverage the aircraft Auto-land system without the AI copilot interfering. (But this is only on the FlyByWire A32NX aircraft mod)

Hi Hester thanks for your reply.Yes I am usibg just AI and the default A320.,The main difference with FSX
is that FSX had the map of the incomming airport whereas FSX new doesnt.I approach the airport at a
relevany height but then when selecting AI the aircraft goes off on it’s own way.

Hi Neo is the A320NX aircraft model an optional extra?

The Devs acknowledged the difficulties in having the AI Pilot do landings properly in one of the Dev Q&A this year on Twitch/Youtube…

Be careful, that AI pilot flies you into the nearest mountain without hesitation.
Not so be used without supervision.

2 Likes

Hi @GiggyGlue153080,
If it’s the AI Control pilot (not the autopilot) there has been issues with this for some time. If it is the AI Control, up vote and contribute to this topic in Bugs & Issues (the developers do know about this):

:+1: