Airport / Airfield Information

I’m relatively new to flying so I apologise if this is a daft question :slight_smile:

I’m doing short trips in the Icon getting my feet wet and stopping of at airfields starting from White Waltham airfield UK.
Is there any way to identify which orientation the runway numbers are without having to do a fly by and eyeball first. Some private fields don’t have numbered grass runways and I’m a bit lost to how to properly identify them for landing.

Any help would be much appreciated.

the best is navigraph if you want a more real simulation is the best, the only bad thing is monthly or annual subscription payment

The airport’s icon on the moving map will show the orientation of the runway - or primary runway if there are more than one at the field. If you want to plan ahead, you can also zoom in on your destination runway in the World Map and scope it out there. But in real life, if a pilot is landing at an unfamiliar and uncontrolled airport, they’ll usually do a low approach first to see if there are obstacles on the runway and to get a look at the windsock for speed and direction of the wind.

2 Likes

Hi I fly with cix and they have some good vfr uk Airdrome info.
https://www.cixvfrclub.org.uk/operations/Airfield_Data_Sheets.php?d=EG

Are you on PC? Then I can only recommend LittleNavMap. It shows you all the details about airports etc. based on exactly what you’ll see in the sim, including weather etc.

On top you can plan your route and get a flight plan with all the calculations.

Another option is skyvector.com but it doesn’t contain details on all airports, especially in the UK.

Overflying the airport and entering the pattern when in VFR is still a good idea :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Thanks for all your suggestions, I’ll take a look at the recommendations.

:+1:

Open the ATC communication menu and select a landing option. It will give you a choice of runways so you get an idea of what’s available.