Any Paraglider/Hangglider pilots here?

I’m a rated paraglider pilot from the PNW. Anyone else here fly gliders?

It would be cool to connect with other glider pilots that fly on MSFS!

I’m not, but I wish I had taken it up when I was younger. And I have seen a few in my travels here. @Theduck38, for example, has a paraglider in his profile picture.

Edit: For the benefit of those paraglider pilots here, I am going to repost this YouTube video that still blows me away after countless re-watches

2 Likes

Epic! Tom de Dorlodot and Horacio Llorens are absolute mad men in the paragliding world! Gavin McClurg is one of my favorite pilots.

This is also a great video to watch if you like paragliding!

Short Version:

Full Video:

3 Likes

Paraglider pilot form the UK here. Not sure if I can link here (admins, remove if not allowed). You can see my MSFS pictures and paraglider pictures on Insta…

@Paraglidecass and @Flightsimcass

3 Likes

I flew hang gliders from 1985 to 1993 in Mexico. Logged almost 1.000h, even flew competitions.
These were the days…

Epic, you probably familiar with Flybubble then? I’d love to fly the UK!

Your nearly a pioneer! I’ve always wanted to fly hangies but feared my neck would cramp after a few minutes.

Dumb question: How do you launch in the UK? Much of the southern part is flat like in your photo right? Are you flying off low hills and then scratching your way up there, or?

Very familiar, bought a few items from them and also watched a lot of their YouTube vid’s.

UK is fun if the weather is good. If themic, the flatland areas can work, but I do like the Malverns, Wales (around Crickhowell etc) and the Lake District. This year the weather hasn’t been great, but still managed 150 hours + …I have a very understanding boss :rofl: