Anyone else worried about the future of aviation?

So I am conflicted here. I mean I love aviation hence I am on this forum and playing MSFS. I also work in aviation (not as a pilot, as a meteorologist). However it is no secret anymore we live in a warming climate where we need to decrease burning fosil fuels. I know aviation is only a relative small part in this. But people need cars to go to their work etc. Do they need a holiday on a tropical island or on a cruiseship? No they don’t. So I’m worried aviation will get cut down sooner or later. At least there is a strong lobby.

I really hope aviation can become more sustainable. I know there is already a lot of work in this. How will it look, in 5 years? 10 years? 20 years? I have no idea anymore.

2 Likes

This is true. I’m a pilot with a cargo carrier and I know all my colleges think of the future as well; especially the younger pilots coming on board.

2 Likes

In theory we have a couple ways to get off the fossil fuel merry-go-round for airliners (in addition to simply maybe we fly long distances less often when we don’t need to, reducing total passenger miles):

• sustainable aviation fuel - non-kerosene jet fuel alternatives can be made from newly grown plant material, preferably that was going to waste otherwise, reducing the net carbon impact vs fossil fuels which release carbon that used to be in the ground. This seems to be more expensive than pumping petroleum, though, so prices will go up.

• (out there) hydrogen-burning turbines! (but you have to make/extract the hydrogen gas, and this again takes energy, costing money, and the enignes need a lot more development vs the plant-oil-based fuels)

• companies keep painting this rosy future of lightweight electric-powered aircraft for short routes and “feeder” routes to hubs. Lithium-ion batteries + electric motors are ok for this niche, but batteries are heavy and – you guessed it – require dangerous, toxic mining!