Asobo 737 MAX 8

The slide said it was Asobo’s most complex aircraft ever.

I’m really curious just how much fidelity it will end up having.

I’m also curious about it, because I understood PMDG was developing a MAX, too.

4 Likes

Yes, my first thought was, who’s making it? Could it be PMDG?

1 Like

Well, it said “Asobo’s most complex aircraft”, so it is an Asobo internal development.

3 Likes

I’m not a huge airline guy. But this is HUGE for a base sim airliner. Pretty sweet to see, I’ll definitely be poking my head into the flight deck… :airplane:

2 Likes

Neither am I, but I will always dabble in anything and everything aviation.

I do love messing about with all the systems of an airliner, however.

1 Like

Well, it has to be licensed from Boeing to be part of the base game. PMDG has publicly acknowledged their own MAX project for like 18 months or so now, which means they have - or had - a license as well. I would have thought - given what I do for a living - that such licenses would have exclusivity provisions. So either I’m wrong, or else: PMDG sold their license to Asobo; Asobo went to Boeing and threw enough $$ at them to get them to buy back the license to PMDG; Asobo is doing the Max8 but PMDG will do a -7 and -9 or something (but that would be atypical for how PMDG approach things); or “Asobo’s most complex aircraft” is being done under contract by PMDG.

I don’t know if we - the simming public - will ever know for sure what the full story is here.

5 Likes

I had some parallel thoughts as yours.

I thought perhaps a partnership, but there was absolutely no mention of PMDG in that MAX introduction, so if they did partner it must be in a silent way.

1 Like

Given how PMDG has gone silent on their own MAX and how Mathijs has politely deflected any questions about its status, I really wonder if there’s a backstory here and if so, will we ever know it?