ATC needs looooooots of work

I know I know, I’m not the first one to complain about the ATC, and many people may have had similar experiences. Nevertheless I have to vent a bit, and hopefully MS will listen if enough people ■■■■■ about it.

First up: I’ve been a sim pilot since 1988 on FS2 on an Atari ST, and had every version until FS2002. I’m not a real pilot but have spent enough time on the co-pilot’s seat in small planes listening to ATC to know a little about it.

With FS2000 and FS2002 I had a very nice ATC addon (sadly don’t remember the name) that flawlessly guided me through a whole flight, with startup, taxiing, vectoring and approach. It told me which localisers to use, what speed and altitude to fly at and even put me in a holding pattern. And after landing it guided me to the gate or parking. It even had cabin announcements and other little details. That was 15-20 years ago. Since then I had only casual contact with FS2004 and FSX so I cannot say much about ATC there. FS2020 was the first time in a long time, I really got wound up about Flightsimming again.

So while the visuals and flying are fantastic (mostly), and the interface and voices of the ATC is not bad, almost everything else about ATC is really a big letdown for me so far.
An here is why:

1. Automatic Flight Planning is off (especially for novices)
    The flight plans automatically created on the map sceen before the flight don’t plan an approach, but only let me fly from airport to airport. Descent and Approach have to be edited manually. Otherwise an approach is not possible since ATC will not vector you in.
    In addition I have to select the runways myself. Normally on IFR I expect to be assigned a runway according to prevailing winds and traffic.

2. ATC ignores flight plan