Best joystick for best price..?

Hello. I’m new to FSX and the forums. I’ve been flying with a Xbox controller for about 3 weeks and I want to try something new for primary flight control. Any suggestions for a noob on a decent price piece of hardware?
Thanks, Matt

The cheapest most decent one I would recommend as a starting point is the Logitech Extreme 3D Pro.

1 Like

They aren’t necessarily inexpensive, but I replaced my tried-and-true Saitek AV8R with a Thrustmaster T16000M at the first of the year. They’ve gotten a bit harder to find and the price has increased, but the T16000M is a great Flight Control System. It uses magnets instead of potentiometers. It is sturdy and feels very solid.

3 Likes

I just got myself the Thrustmaster TCA Officer Pack Airbus edition today. I’m looking forward to trying it out later.

had an old x.36 Saitek stick but now i am happy with the Honeycomb yoke !

+1
That is what I flew with for years and years, worked great.

Prices are through the roof for anything that is remotely useful for MSFS tho’… I bought one four years ago for $34, now they are $90 new on Amazon, and people put their used ones on eBay for $100+… Didn’t realize a low end joystick could be a business investment, 3x return over four years is not too bad.

My X56 HOTAS I bought two years ago for $195 now retails for $369. Crazy.

1 Like

Really is a budget/supply question for you OP.
Most kit is really hard to get just now and plenty chancers dropping 2nd hand on ebay for inflated prices.
I personally wouldn’t buy a 2nd hand controller.

VKB NXT Gladiator. Just check it out before you pull the trigger.

1 Like

I would also recommend the Thustmaster T16000 as I have one and it is very precise

I also have an Xbox controller which I’ve successfully flown & landed with. … To answer my son’s Question “Can I use MSFS with a controller”