Best Joystick Setup for Helicopters?

Hi Folks,

I have a Thrustmaster T.Flight Hotas One joystick and I also have the Thrustmaster T-LCM pedal set (this is for automobile racing with clutch, brake and accelerator pedals) if it would prove helpful. Could anyone using a similar setup please let me know how they assigned their controls to fly these new Helicopters? The current way I have the TM Joystick setup for flying planes doesn’t respond in a helicopter. Thanks in advance for any and all help provided.

Roger

1 Like

You want zero curve and deadzone for all of your control surfaces. The pedals are tricky as they are not linked together, and there is a lot of minor input needed to maintain directional control. best to use the twist stick. inverting the throttle in settings will make the collective control more intuitive.
Watch a few vids to get an idea of the flight dynamics of a helicopter. Then practice hovering in ground effects till you can maintain position for several minutes. Always look to the distance. There used to be helo clubs for FSX some years ago. Not sure if they’re still around.

1 Like

For helicopters standard linked pedals with no centre “clicky” detent (so not CH etc ) are optimal if you can find any at an OK price.

I suppose you could try binding just the one single pedal as left right axis where half depressed would equal centred? no idea - never tried it.

I have that T.Flight Hotas and it’s annoying the throttle handle has a small detent notch at 50% which is just about at the point where you need to juggle the finest control of collective when coming in to land. Makes it really too easy to over-compensate in both directions, just when you really need the most precision. Wonder if it’s possible to modify it to remove that notch?

1 Like

I think you can remove the detent - i’m sure there was a YT video on it somewhere

I’m looking at controls now - everything “Helicopter” is 10x price of fixed wing :frowning: