Bouncing on landing

Does anyone else experience extreme bouncing when landing? I am a new pilot and I expect some rough landings but what I am talking about is extreme bouncing up and down which eventually results in a crash. The landing is mostly smooth leading in (on ILS approach) but as soon as I touch any controls the bouncing starts and is out of control.

I mainly want to know if this is a bug or if it is just pilot inexperience.

2 Likes

Sounds like you are coming in too fast and losing altitude too quickly. It takes practice. With full flaps you should be able to reduce power so that your glide slope and approach speed is correct. The papi lights (2 red 2 white if on correct slope) will help you. Just keep practicing, you will get there.

6 Likes

@srcrain

Which aircraft?

Airplane does not matter. I have not experienced it with any of the planes. If it is on glide path and jumps at touchdown, it is too fast and doesn’t pull up its nose just before touchdown to float out and touch down just before stall.

1 Like

Of course it matters and e.g. you certainly don’t touch down in any airliner ‘just before stall’.

3 Likes

What type of controller are you using?

1 Like

Hello
Me I have this problem often with the A320no at the normal landing speed. I will try next time with slower one.

Practice on GA aircrafts first (the DR400 is perfect for initial practice, but you can use the C152 or any other light plane). You can practice stalls at safe altitudes (3000ft), just to learn and understand the behaviour of the plane before it stalls (just idle your engine and try to keep your altitude until your nose dives). Use clean configuration or flaps to feel the difference.
As advised above, your speed on final is very important. With the DR400 full flaps, try to keep as close as 120km/h as you can, follow the PAPI lights, and once above the threshold idle your engine and flare very gently.

1 Like