Bug to learn IRL

Does anyone (after using / playing FS) have the bug to go and learn in real life even the most basic flight certificate, here in Australia the basic course is the RA-Aus Pilot Certificate where upon successful completion of the course you can fly alone in a single aircraft around 25 nms of your aerodrome. I definitely got the bug to try a real life flight and my local airport offers “discovery flights” in a Sling 2 for a 1 hour flight which I am seriously considering having a go to see what it is like.

3 Likes

It has crossed my mind to go do a discovery flight to have a real world frame of reference to my VR sim experience.

I may do that myself one day. Don’t think I can afford to take up the real flying hobby myself, but a single discovery flight I could do and may do at some point.

Oh for sure, since I started playing Ive looked into getting my own pilots license. Sadly its just not in the budget rn.

Also, should this be moved to the bug section? lol

1 Like

completely normal

I hope they don’t ever fix this one

4 Likes

I did it. I’ve spent my career in aviation and flew sims on and off over the decades. I’d wanted to be a pilot when I was a teenager, but my poor eyesight was a barrier back then. Finally being able to fly believable VFR in MSFS2020 pushed me over the edge a couple of years ago. I started my PPL last year and finished it this past spring. I can’t afford to fly as much as I’d like to (flying MSFS is still the best value), but finally ticking that goal off my “bucket list” was worth it for me.

5 Likes

wow congratulations! wonderful outcome thanks to a software program / game !

Bug, SQUASHED!

It took almost 30 years of simming to finally do it… but better late than never?

Got my Private Pilot’s License a couple months ago at the spry age of 49.

5 Likes