C 172 Flight Model

I’m a new student pilot and avid simmer. As new student pilot I’m acutely aware of the differences in handling between the sim and IRL. For example the plane IRL is far squirlier on the roll than in the sim. (Also the elevator authority is way too strong in the sim vs IRL, but one issue at a time.)

I can UP the sensitivity on my pedals to better mimic the sensitivity on the ground IRL… but then the yaw is WAY too sensitive, since the pedals control both,

Are there any variables akin to X-Plane, where the ground coefficient of friction can be adjusted?

I’d love to get answers on this as well. I’m not sure if my peripherals are setup well. I still find taxiing in the real C172 to be diffcult especially when doing doing a sharp turn.
If you have some downtime in the 152 it’s lighter/ touchier on the pedals and yoke.
What peripherals do you use?

MFG Crosswind pedals. Honeycomb Alpha yoke, misc others. I can adjust the sensitivity in controls options, but I can’t make ground handling more sensitive, and yaw less sensitive by doing that. :confused:

Moved to #self-service:aircraft-systems

Off subject, I saw your avatar / icon. Reminded me of a shot I took the other day!

1 Like

If you have the C172 Steam gauge version (comes with Deluxe package), the WB-Sim mod is great, and they are planning to update it soon. The dev is very responsive in Discord to questions and suggestions, and may know or even be able to incorporate some of your input into the upcoming version. I don’t know if this link will work, still a novice at Discord: Discord

1 Like