CPU Loads, have I got the wrong setup?

Hi Guys, I am new to MSFS coming across from XP11.
I have spent maybe 30 hours trying to get the settings right for a good VR experience like in XP11.
I have watched all the YT videos on settings and some improvements have been made.

Firstly, here is my system:
I5 - 12400F 12th Gen - Up to 4.40 GHz
Gigabyte Geforce RTZ 3060 12gb
Prime H610M-E D4 (LGA1700)
Corsair RW650
32gb Ram
Meta Quest 2

My issues:

1. Unable to get some clear text on glass cockpit panels (I am using XVR tool kit)
  2. With LOD turned down to 50 I can get 30FPS at the start of a flight, but it usually drops during the flight. But even at the start, the outside view is terrible.
    Stuttering view when turning. Washed out colours etc

I am CPU limited with my GPU running about 60% with all other settings at High.
I understand my limited CPU is not helping, I am on about 36ms according to the Dev tool.

So my question is, even though this CPU works great in XP, is it up to the job in MSFS, I feel I should be getting better performance than this with my specs.

I have stuck with this hoping this will be my sim of choice, but I am not enjoying it.

Any help and advice are appreciated.

Moved to Interest-Virtual Reality (VR) and added meta-quest 2 tag.

Have you tried DLSS and changing other setting except terrain LOD, especially render scale (assuming no DLSS?

I’ve never run the sim on your strength of hardware but I think it may just be underpowered, especially the GPU. Thing is a real beast to run well.

Yes, I am using DLSS with the AUTO setting in resolution, this is giving me the best frames.

Cannot see how my GPU is underpowered, if MSFS needs more than that to run then I will go back to XP

My question centers around the CPU, the developer display says I am Main Thread limited, but it is running at only 50%, and my GPU is the expected 100%, so what is limiting the main thread?
CPU not fast enough?