Create simvars

Hello
I’m new to msfs SDK, I’ve been developing using P3D SDK for 3 years now and I used to use PDK + simconnect to achieve what I wanted

I’ve seen that MSFS has its own low API SDK but I can’t really know if it is reserved for aircraft’ gauges

My question is: can I create a simvar that doesn’t exist, like registering a new simvar is the sim that is associated with a simobject other than the players plane and access that simvar using a simconnect app that would intitate that simobject’s instance in the sim ?

I hope my question is clear
Thnx in advance
Redouane.

First off, I am not familiar with the FS 2020 SDK when it comes to creating simulation objects (like aircraft): I only know the API “from a client perspective”, notably the SimConnect API.

That said, I have been told that you can create so-called “local variables” (“L:vars”) and use those, e.g. for custom animations of certain aircraft parts. In fact, there are 3rd party aircraft which just do that. Probably the most prominent example is the A320 by FlyByWire.

Here’s the catch: those “local variables” are not (directly) exposed via the SimConnect API! That is the reason why aircraft like the FBW A320 stopped working reacting to simulation variables which control e.g. the engine thrust etc. (because they are using their own “local variables” now to simulate the engine, or so I understand).

That is, there is no “official API” to access those local variables (identified e.g. by their name or so). Or not that I know of, at least.